Reference numberAH
TitleArchdeaconry of Huntingdon
DescriptionCounty Record Office Huntingdon has a substantial collection of Archdeaconry records. Most Huntingdon Archdeaconry records do not survive from before 1663, although some occasional items (mainly bishops transcripts and registers of wills) are older. The records include bishops' mandates for induction of priests 1663-1915, acts of the archdeaconry court, records of visitation processes, meeting house petitions, probate inventories, archdeacons' notebooks, and (more recently) archdeacons' photographs.

The Archdeaconry was founded by Bishop Remigius of Lincoln (1067-1092) and originally comprised the counties of Huntingdonshire, Cambridgeshire and part of Hertfordshire (Hitchin). Cambridgeshire left in 1109 and Hitchin Division left in 1609. In 1837 the entire Archdeaconry was transferred from the Diocese of Lincoln to the Diocese of Ely. The old ecclesiastical peculiars of Brampton, Buckden, Leighton Bromswold and Stow Longa were abolished in 1852 and made subject to the Archdeacon.

The older records were summarily described while still held at the Archdeaconry Library by Rev. W M Noble and S Inskip Ladds in "The Records of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon," in 'Transactions of the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire Archaeological Society' volume 4 pages 165-208; a reprint is available on CRO Huntingdon searchroom shelves.

The archive was entirely re-catalogued in 2004-5 as part of the A2A "Parishes and People" Project.
CreatorNameThe Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
RepositoryHuntingdonshire Archives

Show related Persons records.

P/0067Vesey; Francis Gerald (1832-1915); Archdeacon of Huntingdon (1874-1915)1832-1915
Add to My Items